Dog Attack

An area for discussion of problems with pests and predators. WARNING: People are discussing problems with predators, that includes things such as fox and bird of prey attack. Such posts may not be nice viewing, but are acceptable.

Moderator: Moderators

Dog Attack

Postby Kerrykit » 24 Sep 2015, 16:24

Hi, this is my first time using this site and hope I am in the right place.

I have a English Bull Terrier, 2 Miniature Dachshunds and 1 Whippet Pup.

On Saturday night the Whippet Pup and the adult Dachshund attacked one of my Silver Penciled Wyandottes which resulted in the hen being put down. The dogs where chastised and ignored by the whole family for a few days, the Whippet found this very hard and desperately wanted to be acknowledged.

This morning I found the adult Dachshund standing over another of my hens and the Whippet pup in the garden but a few meters from them. I'm not sure if the hen will survive, I have her in the house in a dark, quiet area with water and food and I'm keeping my fingers crossed she will pull through as she is by far my favourite hen, always ready for a chat and a cuddle.

The hens where free range more or less until recently (we added new stock and decided to repair the fence for their safety) and for the last three years none of the dogs have killed/injured a hen. Since the fence was repaired a few of the oldest hens jump the fence and wander round the garden and adjoining fields.

Is this new habit something I can break or will I have to rehome the dog. The only thing I can think of that could have a trigger is that the Dachshund is in season at the moment, could this be altering her behaviour?

If anyone has any advice they could offer I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks, Kerry
Kerrykit

Liked in: 0 post

Re: Dog Attack

Postby drfish » 25 Sep 2015, 12:43

Hi and welcome,