Wood preserve

Moderator: Moderators

georget
Chick
Chick

Wood preserve

Post by georget » 29 Jan 2014, 11:34

Wondering what to treat the coop with after it stops raining.I would love to get my hands on some creosote for the red mite situation,if its true?But apart from that i dont know whether to go for a substitute or just to paint it with exterior paint.Also i was wondering whether to paint the inside white undercoat.Any advice on this im new to keeping chickens :) George

drfish
Location: Head in the clouds, on a high bit in Nottinghamshire

Re: Wood preserve

Post by drfish » 29 Jan 2014, 12:01

If you can get the real deal creosote for the right price, use that. And yes, it is true. Red mites do not like creosote one bit.

Creocote works to some degree, but needs re-applying much more often to be effective.

Either of the above will do. Don't bother with fancy varnishes and stuff, waste of money. Either of the above, inside, outside, concentrating on perch ends, nooks and crannies and nestboxes.
Giving power to politicians is like giving whiskey and car keys to a teenage boy - P. J. O'Rourke (thanks Jessie)

It's amazing that people can believe everything is predestined but they still look both ways when crossing the road - Stephen Hawking

1 Wife, 3 children, 1 Staffie Bitch (RIP Marley), 1 Chi-Chi, 1 Tuxedo Cat, 1 part Maine Coon cat, male bearded dragon, Horsefield Tortoise, 2 White Silkies, 1 Frizzle Pekin, 1 CLB, 1 Appenzeller Spitzhauben Cockerel, 1 blue laced Wyandotte, 3 Appenzeller x Wynadotte pullets, 1 Call drake, 3 khaki Campbell ducks, 4 (2 male 2 female?) Aylesbury x Campbells, a breeding colony of Dubia cockroaches.

And a lot of Ibuprofen.

subruss

Post by subruss » 29 Jan 2014, 14:07