Advice needed

Moderator: Moderators

Shonagh
Chick
Chick

Advice needed

Post by Shonagh » 11 Jun 2013, 09:10

Morning all,

I have a broody hen and we have decided to get her some eggs which should arrive tomorrow.

I am looking for any advice anyone can give as this is my first attempt.

I think there is a post regarding this but I can't seem to find it.

Should the eggs be rested when they arrive?

What is the best way to get the eggs under her?

Please tell me anything that you think is useful.

Many thanks in advance

Shonagh

gazeds
Chick
Chick

Re: Advice needed

Post by gazeds » 11 Jun 2013, 10:14

leave the egg's rest for at least 12 hour's, I lift my broody hen off the nest for a bit of food, and place the egg's in the nest, some place the egg's under them at night.

subruss

Post by subruss » 11 Jun 2013, 10:15

Resting the eggs is a personnel choice I dont bother myself as I dont see the difference between resting on the kitchen table or resting under the hen :) and the results always seem to be the same . If she is not aggressive just put the eggs next to her and she will sort them out herself if aggressive same objective but more likley to get pecked hands,unless you can get her off the nest for a short while then just place them in the nest for when she gets back. Keep her separate from the other hens as they will try and lay in her nest. have water and food near by that she can get to, for when she takes a break. Dont worry if she stay off the eggs for quite a while, some of my birds stay off the eggs for over an hour and some birds dont leave the eggs for days at a time.When she does come of the nest stand by for some really big smelly poo,s. Apart from all this just leave her to it try not to faff around checking things every 2 mins :) :thumbright:

laffinfowl
Hen
Hen

Post by laffinfowl » 11 Jun 2013, 10:28