eggs not being laid in nestboxes!

Moderator: Moderators

birdmanofpentrecwrt

eggs not being laid in nestboxes!

Post by birdmanofpentrecwrt » 10 Feb 2009, 12:50

Hi there everyone (I'm a newbie). I've got some laying birds, about a third of which aren't laying in the nest boxes but are laying where they perch at night. Luckily I have dropping boards so I don't get many cracked eggs but I do get a lot of dirty ones. What can I do to change their behaviour? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Diane
Hen
Hen

Re: eggs not being laid in nestboxes!

Post by Diane » 10 Feb 2009, 19:19

Are they new birds which have just started to lay? Maybe they just haven't got the hang of things yet. Another thought is - is the nestbox dark enough for them to lay in during the day? They like a really dark private nestbox.
Also, put a couple of pot eggs - or golf balls, in the nestbox to give them a hint :?
Check the nestbox and henhouse for red mite too.

birdmanofpentrecwrt

Post by birdmanofpentrecwrt » 10 Feb 2009, 21:26

they've been laying about 2 months now so they're not really beginners and i'm a bit worried i'll never cure them of the habit!

vanessa

Post by vanessa » 11 Feb 2009, 21:53

Is there any way of removing the perches during the daytime for a few days? Might help, making them HAVE to find somewhere else to lay?

birdmanofpentrecwrt

Post by birdmanofpentrecwrt » 13 Feb 2009, 21:15

thanks for both of your comments guys, i appreciate your help :-)
i do remove the perches during the day but i find that they tend to have already laid the eggs by about 7.30am. i think the nest boxes are pretty dark as most of the hens lay in there, there's just these few that don't.