Cooking a Skinned Goose!

Share your favourite poultry & egg related recipes.

Moderator: Moderators

Cooking a Skinned Goose!

Postby Zann48 » 02 Dec 2013, 09:10

A few months ago I found 2, newly shot, Canada geese. Not liking to see them just dumped and going to waste I returned with the car (I'd been riding at the time) and brought them home. As plucking a goose is pretty daunting I passed them to a friend - who returned them skinned! They're sitting in the freezer and now seems a pretty good time to use them, but, being wild geese, they're not fatty and I don't want to dry them out and spoil them. Has anyone any suitable recipes/ideas please?
Zann48

Liked in: 0 post

Re: Cooking a Skinned Goose!

Postby nickyc » 02 Dec 2013, 10:02

I'm no expert, having never cooked a goose but I would have thought if you cooked them in goose fat and baste regularly and also cover them in streaky bacon like you would a turkey, they should be fine. I think regular basting with the goose fat will be the key :-)
nickyc
Chick
Chick

Liked in: 16 posts

Postby drfish » 02 Dec 2013, 10:42

Or use a roasting bag to keep the moisture in.
Giving power to politicians is like giving whiskey and car keys to a teenage boy - P. J. O'Rourke (thanks Jessie)

It's amazing that people can believe everything is predestined but they still look both ways when crossing the road - Stephen Hawking

1 Wife, 3 children, 1 Staffie Bitch (RIP Marley), 1 Chi-Chi, 1 Tuxedo Cat, 1 part Maine Coon cat, male bearded dragon, Horsefield Tortoise, 2 White Silkies, 1 Frizzle Pekin, 1 CLB, 1 Appenzeller Spitzhauben Cockerel, 1 blue laced Wyandotte, 3 Appenzeller x Wynadotte pullets, 1 Call drake, 3 khaki Campbell ducks, 4 (2 male 2 female?) Aylesbury x Campbells, a breeding colony of Dubia cockroaches.

And a lot of Ibuprofen.
drfish

Liked in: 704 posts
Location: Head in the clouds, on a high bit in Nottinghamshire

Postby kated » 02 Dec 2013, 15:49